2022 NT Literary Awards Finalist Lists Revealed

The shortlists have been announced for the 2022 Northern Territory Literary Awards, which celebrate unpublished work by established and emerging NT writers.

Shortlists in seven categories have been announced, including:

Short story ($1000)

  • “Ghosts of the Circus” by Sally Bothroyd
  • Bacha Posh by Dave Clark
  • “Into the Storm” by A’Mhara McKey

Poetry ($1000)

  • “Going Through the Door” by Janice Barr
  • “Velocipede” by Dave Clark
  • “SORRY” by Dina Davis
  • “Leaving Ikuntji” by Meg Mooney
  • ‘SENSUIKAN I-124’ by Ynes Sanz
  • “For My Sister on Our Vacation” door Leni Shilton

Creative Non-Fiction ($500)

  • “Dysfunction and Beauty on Its Sleeve” by Dave Clark
  • “A World in Decline” by Naish Gawen
  • ‘An Aboriginal healer lifted my PNG curse’ by Annalize Ingram
  • Tribute by Carol Maxwell.

This year’s shortlists were chosen from a pool of over 200 submissions. Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the NT Library in Darwin on Wednesday, September 14.

In addition to cash prizes, winners receive an annual NT Writers Center membership and free entry to a masterclass.

For more information, see the NT Library website.

Category: Awards Local News

Colin L. Johnson